Church Leadership

What is Eldership

The word “presbyter,” from which the name “Presbyterian” is derived, is a New Testament word, often translated as “elder.” Knox, as part of the Presbyterian Church, is a church ruled or governed by elders. Our sixteenth-century Reformation forebears, who included among their number John Calvin and John Knox, believed this to be consistent with the early church, as testified to in the New Testament.

Historically, the eldership’s task of seeking the fruit of the Word in the people of God has tended to consist of three main elements; pastoral care, discipline and spiritual oversight.

The office of eldership is a form of spiritual leadership, of which prayer plays a significant part. Prayer and pastoral care go hand in hand.

Discipline in a church context, is concerned with the formation of disciples, of people whose lives are ordered by the gospel.

Spiritual oversight is exercised by the elders. This involves duties and responsibilities that fall under the category of leadership and governance. As such, when the elders (Session) meet, they do so as a body of spiritual leaders concerned for building up the body of Christ and advancing the mission of the Church.

Session Members

Provide governance and spiritual oversight

Marcell Mey
Rob McIntosh (Session Clerk)
Tina Hudson
Peter Gush
Andrew Stewart
Graham Tennent
Leigh Tennent


Session Clerk: Rob McIntosh

Board of Managers (BOM)

Management of finances and building to meet the mission of the church

Tom Robertson (Chairperson)
Marcell Mey (Minister)
Yvonne Randal (Treasurer)
Annette Grindlay
Frans Weehuizen (IT)
Andrew Stewart (Health & Safety)
Frank Lunderstedt (Site & Maintenance)

Serving Elders Not on Session

Andrew Campbell-Stokes
Erin Cassidy
Laurie Christian
Suzanne Cody
Katherine Dobie
Graeme Gainsford
John Grant
Lesley Grant
Annette Grindlay
Suafole Gush
Fiona Hearn
Terry Hore
Edith Kubwimana
Jo Logan
Joy McIntosh
Liz Pa’u
Alex Rodger
Maureen Rodger
Colin Salisbury
Grace Tennent
Rudy van Baarle
Rubee Yee

Elders - Retired

Ken Wortley
Russell Cody
Blair Valentine
Colin Fenton
Paul Westbury
Phyllis Richards